The Beths - What's the Matter With You

Publish Date
Friday, 12 March 2021, 3:28PM

True Colours, the most commercially successful album of New Zealand group Split Enz’s career, celebrated its 40th anniversary earlier in the year. To commemorate the milestone, the multi-platinum album is now set to be re-imagined and covered by a stellar mix of Australian and New Zealand artists and released as ‘True Colours, New Colours – The Songs of Split Enz’, out on 12th February 2021.

On the project, Tim Finn notes “True Colours, New Colours features an eclectic group of artists who bring eccentricity and swagger to these tunes. Curated in a singular manner which eschews the obvious and turns up the attitude. Love it!”

Featuring covers from the likes of Lime Cordiale, Bernard Fanning, Busby Marou, Stan Walker, Ladyhawke, Robinson, Shihad, Dual, Pacific Heights, The Beths and Chelsea Jade, each covered track will be released alongside the original Spilt Enz version of the song digitally, the first cover to be shared from the forthcoming album comes from New Zealand rock band, Shihad.

Jon from Shihad also adding “As a kid Split Enz made me believe that you could be from NZ and still conquer the world if you made great music. We were honored to have been asked to do one of our favourite Split Enz tracks ‘I Got You’ for the upcoming tribute album – True Colours, New Colours – The Songs of Split Enz. This track was a big part of the soundtrack of our childhoods and is an absolute banger. We basically kept pretty true to the original (it being so good and all) but just made it apocalyptically heavy which we thought would be apt for the times we seem to be living through at the moment. It has been designed to be played as loud as humanly possible so do that when you get a chance.”

The multi-platinum selling ‘True Colours’ was originally recorded in Melbourne's Armstrong Studio in late 1979 and featured the band line-up of Tim Finn (vocals), Neil Finn (guitar and vocals), Eddie Rayner (keyboards), Noel Crombie (percussion), Nigel Griggs (bass) and Malcolm Green (drums) and features timeless Split Enz songs including “Poor Boy”, “I Hope I Never” and “I Got You”.

The album will be available in a hot pink coloured vinyl and as a deluxe 22-track digital edition (featuring the 11 Split Enz originals) on Friday 12th February 2021.

For more about The Beths check out their FACEBOOK and INSTAGRAM pages!

Take your Radio, Podcasts and Music with you