Villainy - Cinnamon

Publish Date
Tuesday, 28 September 2021, 3:58PM

Dead Sides (the lost EP), is the latest release from three time Aotearoa Music Award winning Auckland band Villainy featuring five previously unreleased songs. 

Written and recorded during the Dead Sight album era from 2014 - 2016, Dead Sides captures the band in its purest form; raw, loud and teeming with energy. 

Opener Cinnamon captures the tone of the EP burning progressively into an explosive chorus accentuated by throat-tearing vocals from Neill Fraser, James Dylan’s characteristically dirty bass tone, Thom Watts’ trademark off-kilter guitar lines and Dave Johnston’s endlessly dynamic playing.

Self produced and rough around the edges in the very best ways, this is Villainy just doing what feels right. The result is an EP that isn’t afraid to take unexpected twists and turns, presenting the band on a tougher, more aggressive plain than the one listeners have been accustomed to on their full length LP’s.

For more on Villainy check out their FACEBOOK.

Take your Radio, Podcasts and Music with you