The Smashing Pumpkins Announce New Album Atum, a Sequel to Mellon Collie and Machina

Publish Date
Wednesday, 21 September 2022, 2:50PM

The Smashing Pumpkins have announced their new album Atum (pronounced “autumn”), a 33-song rock opera in three acts that’s billed as the sequel to 1995’s Mellon Collie and the Infinite Sadness and 2000’s Machina/Machine of God. The new song “Beguiled” is the first taste from the album.

Each act of Atum will be released every 11 weeks, with Act 1 leading off on November 15; Act 2 will follow on January 31, with Act 3 finishing the collection on April 21. A special edition box set featuring the album’s 33 songs plus 10 additional bonus tracks will also be released on April 21. See the track list below.

Billy Corgan has announced a new podcast co-produced with iHeartRadio called Thirty-Three With William Patrick Corgan. Each new episode will feature an unreleased Smashing Pumpkins song. The band is set to perform “Beguiled” on The Tonight Show Starring Jimmy Fallon this Friday, September 23. 

01 Atum
02 Butterfly Suite
03 The Good in Goodbye
04 Embracer
05 With Ado I Do
06 Hooligan
07 Steps in Time
08 Where Rain Must Fall
09 Beyond the Vale
10 Hooray!
11 The Gold Mask

01 Avalanche
02 Empires
03 Neophyte
04 Moss
05 Night Waves
06 Space Age
07 Every Morning
08 To the Grays
09 Beguiled
10 The Culling
11 Springtimes

01 Sojourner
02 That Which Animates the Spirit
03 The Canary Trainer
04 Pacer
05 In Lieu of Failure
06 Cenotaph
07 Harmageddon
08 Fireflies
09 Intergalactic
10 Spellbinding
11 Of Wings

This article was first published on

Take your Radio, Podcasts and Music with you