Weezer shares new tune "All My Favorite Songs" from upcoming 'OK Human' album

Publish Date
Friday, 22 January 2021, 9:28AM

Weezer's new album, OK Human, is set to drop next week on January 29, but the band is sharing the first taste of the upcoming project via its first single, "All My Favorite Songs."

In teasing the new song, the band shared on their social media of the track, "Prepare for total Internet inception," and they did not disappoint. "All My Favorite Songs" comes with a technology-themed music video, blurring the lines between reality and what humans see on the internet and social media.

The band's Rivers Cuomo sings in the chorus, "All my favorite songs are slow and sad/ All my favorite people make me mad/ Everything that feels so good is bad, bad, bad/ All my favorite songs are slow and sad/ I don't know what's wrong with me."

Weezer's OK Human follows the band's 2019 Black Album, and features 12 songs including "All My Favorite Songs." The band took inspiration from The Beach Boys' Pet Sounds album while making OK Human (a title that nods to Radiohead's 1997 album OK Computer). In a statement on social media, Weezer explained of OK Human:

"During the summer of COVID-19 we began to chip away at what is now known as OK Human. An album that was made by a handful of humans using only analog technologies (including a 38 piece orchestra) for all of you humans to consume.

OK Human was made at a time when humans-playing-instruments was a thing of the past. All we could do is look back on ancient times when humans really mattered and when the dark tech-takeover fantasy didn’t exist. We used our instruments to connect to the 1960’s and 1970’s and, with the orchestra, back to the 18th and 19th centuries. We had no click track or loops or hi-tech sounds. Not even an electric guitar."

And if you were hoping to hear the band's big riffs rock album, Van Weezer, it is still coming out on May 7th, as noted by the guys on Twitter.

OK Human Track Listing:

1. "All My Favorite Songs"

2. "Aloo Gobi"

3. "Grapes of Wrath"

4. "Numbers"

5. "Playing My Piano"

6. "Mirror Image"

7. "Screens"

8. "Bird With A Broken Wing"

9. "Dead Roses"

10. "Everything Happens For A Reason"

11. "Here Comes The Rain"

12. "La Brea Tar Pits"

This article was first published on iheart.com and is republished here with permission

Take your Radio, Podcasts and Music with you