All Blacks Nominated For World Rugby Awards

Publish Date
Wednesday, 2 November 2016, 9:48AM


The All Blacks, Ardie Savea, Anton Lienert-Brown and coach Steven Hansen have all been nominated for World Rugby awards, it was announced this morning.

The All Blacks, who have gone unbeaten through 10 tests this year, are up against England and the Fiji sevens team for the team of the year award.

Steve Hansen is nominated for the coach of the year along with England's Eddie Jones and Fiji sevens coach Ben Ryan. Controversially Hansen missed out on coach of the year to Australia's Michael Cheika. Hansen has previously won the award in 2012, 2013 and 2014. Former coach Graham Henry won the award a record five times.

Savea and Lienert-Brown have been nominated for breakthrough player of the year against Maro Itoje of England. All Blacks winger Nehe Milner-Skudder won the award last year.

The try of the year nominations include All Blacks halfback TJ Perenara against Argentina. He's up against Jamie Heaslip (Ireland, v France) and Kaito Shigeno (Japan, v Scotland).

Olympic silver medallist Portial Woodman is up for women's sevens player of the year, with Australia's Charlotte Caslick and England's Emily Scarratt also nominated.

The men's and women's player of the year nominations will be announced at later this week.

An All Black has won player of the year for the past four years. Last year Dan Carter won player of the year for a record third time. Richie McCaw also won the award three times.

World Rugby Women's Sevens Player of the Year
Charlotte Caslick (Australia)
Emily Scarratt (England)
Portial Woodman (New Zealand)

World Rugby Sevens Player of the Year
Osea Kolinisau (Fiji)
Seabelo Senatla (South Africa)
Virimi Vakatawa (France)

World Rugby Team of the Year 
Fiji Sevens
New Zealand

World Rugby Coach of the Year
Steve Hansen (New Zealand)
Eddie Jones (England)
Ben Ryan (Fiji Sevens)

World Rugby Breakthrough Player of the Year
Maro Itoje (England)
Anton Lienert-Brown (New Zealand)
Ardie Savea (New Zealand)

Try of the Year
Jamie Heaslip (Ireland, v France)
Kaito Shigeno (Japan, v Scotland)
TJ Perenara (New Zealand, v Argentina)

World Rugby Referee Award
Jérôme Garcès (France)
Alhambra Nievas (Spain)
Jaco Peyper (South Africa)
Rasta Rasivhenge (South Africa)

via NZ Herald