Canterbury Take Out ITM Cup Premiership

Publish Date
Saturday, 24 October 2015, 11:06PM
Getty Images

Getty Images

Canterbury have won the ITM Cup Premiership title, with a thrilling 25-23 win over Auckland in Christchurch.

A Tom Taylor penalty in the 67th minute helped Canterbury claim the victory, after they trailed for much of the second half.

Canterbury scored all of their three tries in the first 17 minutes with Patrick Osbourne, Dominic Bird and Ryan Crotty crossing the white line.

Auckland stayed in the game through Simon Hickey's boot who kicked three penalties along with tries to Greg Pleasants-Tate and Mitch Karpik.

It's Canterbury's seventh title since the revamped competition in 2006.

Radio Sport

Take your Radio, Podcasts and Music with you