Listen to the new song "Northern Lights" from Death Cab for Cutie

Publish Date
Friday, 12 October 2018, 9:41AM

"Northern Lights" is the new single from iconic indie band Death Cab For Cutie.

Taken from their ninth studio album 'Thank You For Today' the single follows the hit song "Gold Rush".

Lead singer Ben Gibbard shares vocals with CHVRCHES' Lauren Mayberry with Rolling Stone calling the song a split between Joy Division and early U2. Exclaim! are also backing the track, calling it "at once melancholic and tightly wound, featuring insistent rhythms and layered melodies."  

'Thank You For Today' was produced and mixed by Rich Costey (Fiona Apple, Franz Ferdinand, Muse), following his previous collaboration with Death Cab for Cutie on the band’s 2015 GRAMMY® Award-nominated 'Kintsugi'. The LP marks the first Death Cab for Cutie release to see long time bandmates Ben Gibbard, Nick Harmer, and Jason McGerr joined in the studio by new members Dave Depper (Menomena, Fruit Bats, Corin Tucker, Ray Lamontagne) and Zac Rae (My Brightest Diamond, Fiona Apple, Lana Del Rey, Gnarls Barkley). Depper and Rae have both been part of Death Cab’s touring band since 2015.

Take your Radio, Podcasts and Music with you